Andrews Foundation Logo

Contact Us

Questions & Answers


The Six Elements of Orofacial Harmony are the characteristics found to be shared by individuals with optimal occlusion and balanced faces.


Q: What are the Six Elements?

A: The Six Elements are optimal treatment goals for the six areas for which orthodontists have diagnostic responsibility. The areas are: the arch (width, shape, and length), AP jaw positions, jaw widths, jaw heights, chin prominence, and occlusion.


Q: What is the Six Elements Philosophy?

A: It is a complete set of treatment goals, rules for treating, and a 3-D postionally-correct classification system that is based on the Six Elements of Orofacial Harmony.


Q: What do you mean when you refer to "orofacial harmony"?

A: Orofacial harmony exists when the teeth, arches, and jaws are positioned in ways that contribute maximally to oral and facial appearance, function, and health.


Q: Can the same Six Elements treatment goals be used for most patients?

A: Even though people differ in size, shape, gender, age, and race, when measured relative to the Six Elements, those variables have surprisingly little effect on the optimal positions and relationship of teeth, arches, and jaws.


Q: How complete is the Six Elements Orthodontic Philosophy?

A: We know of no other philosophy that is more complete and more defendable. It has been 40 years in the making, and practiced for over 20 years. It has been peer-reviewed by independent researchers, and lectured-about worldwide since 1990. It is being practiced by a growing number of orthodontists and taught, in part or in its entirety, in most orthodontic departments throughout the world.